The Villa Torrigiani is located in the hamlet of Camigliano, a town in Capannori (Lucca). It is a historical villa, dating from the second half of the sixteenth century. The first mention of the villa dates back to 1593, as belonging to the Buonvisi family. It was bought later by Nicola Santini, into whose family it passed.
The Museo Nazionale di Palazzo Mansi is one of the two main art museum hosting tapestry collections and mainly post-19th century art collections owned by the city of Lucca, Italy. The collection is displayed in the Baroque palace, formerly belonging to the Mansi family, and located in central Lucca. Many of the original room decorations remain in place. The interiors house a highly decorated bedroom alcove with gilded caryatid columns flanking the portal.
The Orto Botanico Comunale di Lucca is a botanical garden and operated by the city. It is open daily during the warmer months, and weekday mornings off-season. An admission fee is charged. The garden was established in 1820 by Marie Louise, Duchess of Parma, and contains a number of mature plantings of botanical interest. Its site is roughly triangular, set within a corner of Lucca's city wall, and organized into two main sections. One contains the gardens proper with an arboretum, pond, and smaller plantings; the other contains the greenhouse, botanical school, and laboratories. The Museo Botanico "Cesare Bicchi" contains a herbarium and archive.
Ponte della Maddalena is a bridge crossing the Serchio river near the town of Borgo a Mozzano in the Italian province of Lucca. One of numerous medieval bridges known as Ponte del Diavolo, the "Bridge of the Devil", it was a vital river crossing on the Via Francigena, an early medieval road to Rome for those coming from France that was an important medieval pilgrimage route.
Lake Massaciuccoli (Lago di Massaciuccoli in Italian) is a lake in the Province of Lucca. Its surface area is 6.9 km². It is located mainly in the municipality of Massarosa and partly in Torre del Lago, a civil parish of Viareggio. The lake is home to the large extent of Cladium mariscus in Italy. However, vegetation and wildlife have shrunken substantially since the 20th century, due to eutrophication and expansion of Louisianan Crayfish, which are now disappearing from the lake because of predatory birds.
The construction of Palazzo Pfanner dates back to 1660. It was the Moriconi family, members of the Lucca merchant nobility that commissioned its building. Ruined down by bankruptcy the Moriconi family was forced in 1680 to sell the building to the Controni family, silk merchant who had risen to the nobility. The Controni family extended the building: about 1686 they presided over the building of the grand monumental staircase, presumably on the plans of the Lucca architect Domenico Martinelli, active especially in the European capitals of Vienna and Prague; at the beginning of the 18th century they commissioned, in all probability, Filippo Juvarra to upgrade the garden behind; still in the same period they entrusted local 'quadraturisti' painters with decorating the vaults of the staircase and the inside of the aristocratic residence. It is in the residence that the Controni family gave hospitality to Prince Frederick of Denmark who was making a Grand Tour of Italy.
Piazza dell'Anfiteatro is a public square in the northeast quadrant of walled center of Lucca, region of Tuscany, Italy. The ring of buildings surrounding the square, follows the elliptical shape of the former second century Roman Amphitheater of Lucca. The square can be reached through four gateways located at the four vertices of the ellipse. A cross is carved into the central tile of the square with the arms pointing to the four gateways of the square.
The Torre Guinigi is the most important tower of Lucca, Tuscany, central Italy. It is a typical example of local Romanesque-Gothic architecture.This tower is one of the few remaining within the city walls. Its main characteristic is its garden in the sky on the roof of the tower. The tower has been donated to the local government by the descendants of the Guinigi family. The tower dates from the 1300s when a number of wealthy families were building bell towers within the walls of Lucca as status symbols. The kitchen was originally on the floor below with the rooftop serving as a kitchen garden.
Considered one of the most important historical residences of Italy, in the nineteenth century it was the residence of Elisa Bonaparte Baciocchi, sister of Napoleon and Princess of Lucca. The property covers an area of 16 hectares and includes numerous and refined gardens, real botanical rarities and impressive buildings built over the centuries. Its Park is crossed by the avenues of the Camellias and houses two famous Theaters, the Water and the Verzura.