San Francesco is a Gothic- style, Roman Catholic church and monastery located on piazza San Francesco in central Lucca. Members of the Franciscan order were present since 1228, but the church as we see it dates from the 14th-century. The church, built out of gravel, has an aisle-less with a trussed roof. It was completed in the early 15th century with the inclusion of three apsidal chapels.
The façade, which has two arches either side of the doorway, adopted a coat of white limestone, which remained incomplete, and was completed only in the 20th century. The care taken with the interior design is in parallel with the construction of the complex, which took from the 14th century to the 17th century.